Winning At Obsolescence


What I’ve noticed as of late, is that Apple has mastered the art of obsolescence. Shortly before the latest Apple event, I had noticed that my gadgets were becoming obsolete before my very eyes. My original Ipad from 2 years ago crashes when I try to run basic apps that used to run.
Part of that problem is that I can’t upgrade to the latest operating system, IOS 6, even if I wanted. I noticed that more of my app updates are not able to complete because they are designed to work on the new OS. The only use for my original Ipad is to sit with the browser screen open on a web Cam I have monitoring my yard.
My device is obsolete and there’s nothing I can do about it. At least in the old PC days, you could cram some more ram in or tweak the bios or play with some settings and milk another year or more out of your box before it croaked on its own and you had to buy another one.
With an Ipad, or pretty much any new tablet or gadget, you don’t have many options but to buy a new version that can handle the constantly evolving software environment.
It’s brilliant that Apple has not only created the marketing to drive consumers to want the latest toys, they have also driven the developer’s market to keep pace, essentially forcing obsolescence on products whether you like it or not.
It’s not just Apple. I have a 7″ Viewsonic tablet that I bought a little over a year ago. It runs Google’s Gingerbread OS. Need I say more.
I can run my stock ticker on it. Actually, the OS could run a more apps power wise, but I have no storage room on it for most of the new apps.
I’ll give Google’s Android a little credit for at least allowing users to have some flexibility to milk a little more use out of their devices. I am able to install some apps to an SD card and increase my capacity somewhat. Great for storage but the system itself has very little room to try to do its thing. Poor little tablet tries anyway.
Of course, that same flexibility that Android offers could also be to its detriment simply because some users tend to hang onto their devices longer than an Apple user even has the choice to.
For example, I have an Acer A500 Android tablet that I’ve been able to upgrade all the way to Ice Cream Sandwich, Google’s second last OS, and the hardware is more than capable of running most apps.
Officially, Acer will not be offering me the choice to upgrade further but with rooting and custom mod ROMs, I will probably be able to bring myself up to the latest OS, at least this time anyway. So like the old PC days, I might be able to milk another year out of my A500. Not good for Google mind you.
There’s Google’s other problem…they haven’t made me want to upgrade my hardware. Sure, there’s more than enough choice offered by more companies daily for Android tablets, and but unlike Apple, or they haven’t sold me on wanting to get something new. That’s bad news for them.
Sure, the little Nexus 7 looks like a decent little tablet and I probably would really like it but after a day or two, I know I will still be doing pretty much the same things I am doing on my Acer A500, maybe a bit faster, but there are no essential apps that won’t run on my old tablet that makes me need the Nexus 7, and it\’s just not sexy enough to make me want it either.
That’s where Apple are the masters. Not only do I need a new Ipad to run some of my favorite apps, I want a new one because I know they add just enough to make a big difference generation to generation. Brilliant.
I guess that’s why they are at the top, and everyone else isn’t.

- Dr. Hannibal Moot

Leave a Reply

